Inspiring Science- Top Picks 24.04.17

As a science enthusiast I’m constantly looking for articles and blog posts that reaffirm my love for science. Here are just a few of my favourites for this week:

CRISPR cousin SHERLOCK may be able to track down diseases, scientists say.

Using a process similar to CRISPR, scientists at the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard have developed a system that could pave the way for quick and cheap diagnostic testing even under rudimentary conditions such as those seen in developing countries. The technique, quite cleverly named ‘SHERLOCK’, is specific enough to discriminate between the Zika virus genome and its close relative Dengue virus and could have a huge impact on diagnostics, cancer detection and antibiotic-resistance detection.

https://www.statnews.com/2017/04/13/crispr-diagnostic-tests-sherlock/

What is Superfoetation?

A recent article by the BBC states that a British woman fell pregnant with twins, then conceived while carrying them to give birth to triplets. I for one didn’t even know this possible but according to fertility experts, although it’s extremely rare and in theory shouldn’t be possible, superfoetation does in fact happen in humans! You learn something new every day.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/newsbeat/article/39692070/what-is-superfoetation

How many hours of sleep do you actually need?

As someone who regularly gets 8 hours a night (and becomes a dysfunctional, grumpy monster on anything less), it was interesting to read this article on how much sleep you actually need.

http://www.popsci.com/how-many-hours-sleep-do-you-actually-need?dom=rss-default&src=syn

5 vital lessons scientists learn that can better everyone’s life.

An interesting summary of some of the important life lessons that a career in science can teach you. Challenge the norm, question everything, think outside of the box!

https://medium.com/starts-with-a-bang/5-vital-lessons-scientists-learn-that-can-better-everyones-life-cf00d4dbe922

As always, let me know what you thought about my top picks in the comments or on Twitter and please feel free to send me any articles that piqued your interest this week!

For more inspiration, why not check out my previous ‘Top Picks’!

Inspiring Science- Top Picks 10.04.17

Inspiring Science- Top Picks 29.03.17

Inspiring Science- Top Picks 22.03.17

7 thoughts on “Inspiring Science- Top Picks 24.04.17

Add yours

    1. Yeah me to. I thought I’d try it out and I definitely prefer it to my previous format. I think this feature will stay.

      I also thought the superfoetation was really cool. I didn’t even know that was possible. The human body never ceases to amaze me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. One thing I’ve determined from years of thinking about nature is that there’s no such thing as a hard and fast rule. All kinds of fuzziness and redundancy is built into the universe. My upcoming post is about this tendency toward spontaneous organisation inherent in all systems. I believe it’s an emergent property of this fuzziness in the universe.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yeah I totally agree. So many things seemingly spontaneously organise into advantageous structures, like spheroids for example.

          I can’t wait to read your post! I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for it.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

